Perfect words… (Part Two)

Standard

Some of the words I love best are song lyrics. A song called ‘Watersign’ (by Joan Jett and Kathleen Hanna) from Joan Jett’s 2006 album ‘Sinner’ is one of my all time favourites for lyrical beauty. I’ve used this song to put me in the right frame of mind to write many times.
My favourite lines:
Rain on my soul
All shiny and wet
Bleeding all onto your skin
Take me to a place far away
Where we’d be like we’re twins


To me this reflects the ultimate beauty of love between two women. I don’t know if that was the intended meaning behind the words but it’s how I interpret it…Water and blood are both feminine and that idea of an escape where we can be twins–or like with like–is expressed in a very moving way.
Plus Joan’s voice never fails to move me!

And here she is in 1998 performing the song live:

Leave a Reply

